The International Scientific Committee evaluated 185 scientific research papers from 9 countries and selected 18 finalists

The International Scientific Committee of the International Medis Awards for Medical Research has completed the evaluation of 185 scientific research contributions which met all the required criteria. The Committee selected 18 finalists who this year come from six countries. Already for the ninth year, the contest has been rewarding the outstanding research achievements of doctors and pharmacists from Central and South-Eastern Europe. The winners in individual fields will be announced on 9 March 2023 in Ljubljana, Slovenia.

The finalists of the 9th International Medis Awards for Medical Research are:


  • Julian Peter Schwärzler, Austria
  • Maria Effenberger, Austria


  • Vid Janša, Slovenia
  • Dzhamilyat Abdulkhalikova, Slovenia

Intensive Care Medicine and Anesthesiology

  • Christian Reiterer, Austria
  • Liliya Vakrilova, Bulgaria


  • Ivo Božović, Serbia
  • Kaja Kolmančič, Slovenia


  • Martina Tomić, Croatia
  • Sanja Petrović Pajić, Serbia


  • Zlatan Zvizdić, Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Vanya Rangelova, Bulgaria


  • Aneta Perić, Serbia
  • Matej Štuhec, Slovenia

Pulmonology and Allergology

  • Christian Lang, Austria
  • Marko Lucijanić, Croatia


  • Peter Mandl, Austria
  • Petra Šimac, Croatia

Doctors and pharmacists who have published their scientific research contributions in reputable scientific publications with an impact factor higher than 1.500 were eligible to compete for the International Medis Awards for Medical Research. This year, 238 research articles from Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Hungary, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia and Slovenia were submitted. 185 applications met all high criteria for the position of a nominee of the International Medis Awards.

The awards ceremony will this year take place on 9 March 2023 in Ljubljana.