Winners are announced!

Read more

The 2017 Medis Awards finalists are announced!

November 15, 2017

The international panel of specialists, chaired by Prof Matija Tomšič, MD, PhD, reviewed and assessed a record number of 166 applications from seven countries. After a very demanding and extensive work, they announced the finalists covering nine therapeutic areas.

The finalists of Medis Awards 2017 are:


  • Tihamer Molnar, Hungary, University of Pecs
  • Marija Stević, Serbia, University children's hospital, Belgrade, Serbia


  • Goran Hauser, Croatia, Clinical Hospital Centre Rijeka
  • Mattias Mandorfer, Austria, Medical University of Vienna


  • Andraž Dovnik, Slovenia, Maribor University Medical Centre
  • Marina Ivanišević, Croatia, University of Zagreb School of Medicine
  • Vedran Kardum, Croatia, University Hospital Merkur


  • Veronika Rutar Gorišek, Slovenia, Ljubljana University Medical Centre
  • Zoran Vukojević, Bosnia and Herzegovina, University Clinical Centre of the Republic of Srpska


  • Aleksej Medić, Croatia, Eye Clinic Medic-Jukic
  • Maja Živkovič, Serbia, Eye clinic Clinical center Nis, Medical Faculty University of Nis


  • Klemen Dovč, Slovenia, University Children’s Hospital
  • Judith Pichler, Austria, Department of Paediatric Nephrology and Gastroenterology, University Clinics of Vienna


  • Mladena Lalić-Popović, Serbia, Faculty of Medicine; Novi Sad
  • Iva Mucalo, Croatia, Faculty of Pharmacy and Bicohemistry, University of Zagreb

Pulmonology (with Allergology):                                                           

  • Balázs Antus, Hungary, National Koranyi Institute of TB and Pulmonology, Budapest
  • Marina Labor, Croatia, University Hospital Centre Osijek


  • Jaka Ostrovršnik, Slovenia, Ljubljana University Medical Centre
  • Ivan Padjen, Croatia, University Hospital Centre Zagreb

Congratulations to all the finalists!

The winners will be announced at the Medis Awards Ceremony on 30 November 2017 in Madlenianum Opera & Theatre house in Zemun, Belgrade. We are looking forward to honouring the best medical achievements of the year.